Maticevski: Dark Wonderland

Exhibition at the Bendigo Art Gallery

It took me a ridiculously long time to get to Toni Maticevski’s Dark Wonderland exhibition. It was the threat of missing out altogether that prompted me to swing into action on the final weekend, only to find out that it has now been extended for a few more months. Nevertheless; onward #vicbbatical.

Where we ate: we stopped off at the Malmsbury Bakery for the best monkey face biscuit I’ve had since I was 12 (I’m such a child). My travel companion had a much more adult apple friand which was equally sensational by all reports. We then continued to Bendigo proper and cruised about town taking in the beautiful historical buildings before sampling most of the small share plates at Masons of Bendigo.  We went too hard too early and sadly couldn’t squeeze in any dessert (that monkey face was worth it).

The gallery: the installation proper is breathtaking and the showstopper is the orchard room with floor to ceiling monochrome wallpaper. To quote one patron – she just wanted to strip naked and lie there. Whilst stripping wasn’t my first reaction I don’t disagree with her enthusiasm.

The Dark Wonderland exhibition has now been extended through to 15 January 2017 and at only $12 a ticket it is well worth the road trip.

img_8863

img_8874

img_8935

img_8949

